Widemouth Bay Cornwall at sunset

Reviews

White paint splash
What our guests say about Gwelmor
    

If you've got dogs and you want to take them on holiday in Cornwall this is the place!

Perfect! Wow, where to start, if you've got dogs and you want to take them on holiday in Cornwall this is the place! The bungalow is extremely spacious with plentiful amenities - tumble dryer, washing machine, fully fitted out kitchen, loads of cups, plates and glassess, treats for the dogs, dog towels! the list is endless. The owner even got us a slow cooker in preparation for our visit! Very well presented rooms, the website and photos really don't do it justice. Widemouth Bay is a quiet, unspoilt beach, perfect for dogs. We will definitely be back! Thank you.

Jim Rawlings
October 23, 2021
    

Great time as usual

Great time as usual. Property is well equipped and very well presented for all humans and doggy pals! Have a good 12 months. See you next September!

October 8, 2021
    

Gwelmor really did exceed our expectations

Thank you for our lovely stay in Gwelmor. We had such an amazing time and will definitely stay again. Gwelmor really did exceed our expectations. Everything we needed was here and more. Thank you humans for our treats, Love Roo and Milo.

The Harding family & Roo and Milo, the dogs
September 17, 2021
    

Ideal holiday home for a family getaway

Ideal holiday home for a family getaway with an almost 3-year-old. The gifts on arrival, with a special gift for the kid, were an especially nice touch and appreciated. The location was ideal, 5 minutes' walk from the beach, and there are a couple of nice restaurants nearby (we appreciated the recommendations in the "Guests" section of the website). The house itself had everything required for a holiday -- we particularly enjoyed the DVD selection.

The Cho family
September 14, 2021
    

We had a wonderful holiday

We had a wonderful holiday with our son, daughter-in-law and 2 grandchildren aged 6 and 3yrs. The bungalow had every home comfort. The owner even left a little gift for the children with their name on them, thank you.

The Young Family
August 18, 2021
    

Such a great place

We loved every minute of our stay. The house is wonderful. The location is perfect. We the kids were welcomed with gifts left by the owner and treats and letters to our dog. Such a great place. We hope to come back again.

The Al-Sabah family
August 2, 2021
    

Would definitely recommend this property

Would definitely recommend this property. It is a very well equipped, comfortable property. The owners have thought of everything you might need whilst on holiday. Also very dog friendly which is important to us. In a great position being five minutes walk to the beach and local eateries.

The Broxup family
July 12, 2021
    

Can't fault it and hope to be back soon

We have had a wonderful holiday at Gwelmor. The house is spotlessly clean and well equipped and the area is so quiet. Great location for the beach or for exploring Cornwall. Can't fault it and hope to be back soon. Thanks to Jayne for being a great host and the lovely welcome gifts - much appreciated after a long journey.

Danielle, John and Boris
June 19, 2021
    

...a great place to unwind and relax

Really enjoyed our stay here. Was a home away from home, drench showers and facilities were excellent, every convenience had been well thought out. We felt very welcome. Loved the immediate and surrounding area. Plenty to see and do, also a great place to unwind and relax.

The Conner family
June 18, 2021
    

Gwelmor was brilliant

We have had an amazing holiday. Widemouth Bay is great, it had everything we needed for a family holiday and Gwelmor was brilliant. Lovely accommodation that had everything we needed and more. Thank you for the welcome gifts, Arthur and the boys loved them, such a thoughtful idea.

The Hamiltons
June 11, 2021
    

...the most comfortable we have ever stayed in...

Perfect! The house was just fantastic and the most comfortable we have ever stayed in and a great size. The garden was a bonus and a real sun trap in a really peaceful location. And with the beach a stones throw away the kids had a great time surfing and body boarding till the sun set .... will be back !!!

Sarah
May 28, 2021
    

Our fourth visit...Beautifully presented house in a great location

Our fourth visit...Beautifully presented house in a great location - enclosed garden completely safe for dogs and children, super comfy beds, spotlessly clean, well equipped kitchen. A short walk to sandy, dog friendly beach with rock pools for exploring and popular for surfing. A couple of pubs/restaurants in walking distance and Bude 10 minutes away by car or an hour's walk on the beautiful SW coastal path. A great base for exploring North Devon and Cornwall.

The Fergus Party
November 5, 2020
    

Fantastic accommodation

We have had a thoroughly enjoyable stay, fantastic accommodation, catering for all our needs including our furry babies. Shadlow, Opal & Tilly loved their treats, and Louie says thank you for his little bear. We have had a first class stay and will recommend it to all our friends. Thank you so much from all of us.

The Miles family
November 3, 2020
    

A wonderful property that leaves nothing wanting

What can we say that hasn't already been said. A wonderful property that leaves nothing wanting. Even the weather was good. We much appreciate the extra cleaning and stresses of this strange time.

The Bennett Party
October 23, 2020
    

Would 100% recommend Gwelmor

We had an absolutely amazing stay at Gwelmor. Perfect location for coastal walks, the beach, dog walks and to a local pub. You really don't need to use the car if you don't want to. The house is spotlessly clean, so quiet and so well laid out. Its also super dog friendly. We have already booked again for next year and can't wait to go back. Jayne is also so lovely and friendly if you need anything. Would 100% recommend Gwelmor.

Laura, Phil, Cindy, Dave, Abbey and Arnie, Bertie and Darcey
October 16, 2020
    

Gwelmor is amazing

Gwelmor is amazing. Home from home, every attention to detail has been carefully thought of. So clean and well equipped, its just such a joy to be there.

Emma and Janet
October 12, 2020
    

Looking forward to visits 6 and 7 that are already booked for next year!

Sadly we have reached the end of our 5th stay at Gwelmor, but we are looking forward to visits 6 and 7 that are already booked for next year! We have had a wonderful week visiting our favourite places and discovering new. It’s great to have complete confidence that we are going to spend our stay in clean, well equipped and comfortable accommodation surrounded by fantastic coastline and beautiful countryside all right on our doorstep. My shoulders dropped and I let out a huge sigh as we dropped down the now familiar slope into Widemouth Bay secure in the knowledge that we would have a great holiday whatever the world throws at us!

Julie, Mark and the pack
October 2, 2020
    

Our fifth visit in three years

We recently spent a wonderful week in Gwelmor - our fifth visit in three years. Being all on one level and its lovely enclosed garden, it's absolutely perfect for young families. Our two and five year olds feel completely at home here, as do we. Despite the patchy weather, we found plenty to do in the immediate area and within a short drive. The kids loved the nearby theme parks too, but the highlight is undoubtedly the local beaches, brilliant for paddling and rock pooling. We can't recommend it highly enough and have already booked in again (twice) for next year.

The Kays
August 31, 2020
    

The perfect escape after lockdown

We had a wonderful time. We took the home on recommendation and it was the perfect escape after lockdown. Excellent location for the lovely Widemouth beach and visits to Bude and the beautiful North Cornish coast (Tintagel, Boscastle, Rock, Holywell Bay). We couldn't fault the accommodation which was very spacious and well equipped and the owner was very welcoming. We highly recommend Gwelmor and hope to return.

The Cornish Party
July 24, 2020
    

The cottage was spotlessly clean

We absolutely loved Gwelmor. Jayne has thought of everything to make this the perfect setting for a family holiday with the dogs. The cottage was spotlessly clean, spacious and beautifully furnished. The eco friendly cleaning products and the fact that everything was locally sourced, from the paintings and furniture to the shower gel and shampoo was a really nice touch. The location is superb too. The dogs loved their treats. Thank you for a lovely holiday.

The Thomas Party
July 10, 2020
    

This place is absolutely amazing

“This place is absolutely amazing! Jayne really goes to the extra mile to make this house pure luxury! With a short walk to the beach, pubs and coffee shops this house is in perfect location. We are very sad to be heading home. 100% we will be back.”

Becky
June 22, 2020
    

We will return for our fifth stay in September

"The end of yet another very enjoyable stay at Gwelmor. We can't thank Jayne and Bill enough for providing such wonderful accommodation for us and our 'fur' family. All being well we will return for our fifth stay in September. Just wonderful. Thank you."

Mark and Julie
March 15, 2020
    

Absolutely relished in the peace and quiet

"I think this is our fourth visit to Gwelmor and it simply gets better each time. Unusually we were child-free this time and we absolutely relished in the peace and quiet, the wintry but invigorating walks, the cosy nights in and exceptional meals out. Thank you for making this such an incredible home from home. We'll be back (with the kids!) in August."

Kath and Jay
March 1, 2020
    

We love how dog friendly Gwelmor is

"Thank you for an absolutely amazing stay! We loved staying here as we are so close to such amazing places, we visited Clovelly and it was absolutely stunning. We love how dog friendly Gwelmor is and Thor loved his treats! We will definitely be coming next year! Thank you so much."

Sian, Kieron, Aimee, Izzy and Thor
February 21, 2020
    

Such thoughtful attention to detail

“We spent a recent weekend at Gwelmor with family. It was our first trip away with our 4 month old son. The bungalow was so incredibly spacious and well laid out. Each bedroom was immaculately presented and the beds are comfortable... Such thoughtful attention to detail, especially if you have a dog. We would definitely recommend this holiday home. Thank you for having us.”

Hannah
January 17, 2020
    

Lovely holiday home

“Lovely holiday home. Modern high quality appliances throughout. Characterful property. Plenty of space in all rooms, car parking room for at least two cars, thoughtful touches around the home.”

James
January 17, 2020
    

Not just dog friendly but dog welcoming!

“Fantastic holiday home! The attention to detail and catering for your every need was second to none. Spacious rooms all beautifully furnished and decorated to create a tranquil atmosphere. Not just dog friendly but dog welcoming!”

Jimmy
January 17, 2020
    

What a wonderful January treat!

"What a wonderful January treat! Thank you so much for our wonderful stay. Gwelmor is cosy, homely and beautifully decorated. What we loved most was the dog friendly touches - the extra towels, poo bags etc. You've really thought of everything and taken the stress away. We've loved exploring Widemouth Bay, Bude and now, on our way home, are off to Milook and Boscastle. What stunning places you have nearby. This has been the perfect winter break, despite the typical Cornish weather. We would love to come back again."

Meg, James and Maisie
January 12, 2020
    

Gwelmor has had everything we could have wished for (and more!) to enjoy our Xmas

"Gwelmor has had everything we could have wished for (and more!) to enjoy our Xmas and cook the Xmas turkey! Great walks on the beach with the dogs (when it wasn't raining!). Can recommend the Sunday carvery at Widemouth Manor Hotel...Thanks again for a great holiday."

Dave, Jenny, Simon, Ben, Lisa and the dogs
December 27, 2019
    

Though it was a short stay only, we had a wonderful time here

"Though it was a short stay only, we had a wonderful time here. The place is amazing and even my dog Linda didn't want to leave. We love the full equipped kitchen, the games and the floor heating."

Jula, Insa and Linda
November 17, 2019
    

3rd visit and as always fantastic week

"3rd visit and as always fantastic week. The dogs loved it, wonderful fresh air long walks and great accommodation. Thank you very much see you next year! Congratulations on the award too!"

Hugh & Christine
November 15, 2019
    

Thank you for providing such a great place for our family holiday

"This has been a brilliant holiday with the perfect place to stay! First time brining the dogs away and they have absolutely loved it, chilled more than we have from all the beach walks & pub lunches! Also a surprise break for my mum over the weekend who loved it too! We will all be returning! Thank you for providing such a great place for our family holiday"

Chloe
November 8, 2019
    

A great way to start our holiday

Our holiday cottage was amazing everything we could possibly need was provided. It was super clean. A lovely cream tea was waiting for us on arrival even treats for the dogs a great way to start our holiday. The location was perfect a short walk to a great beach and places to eat. I would definitely recommend this holiday home as we had a fantastic holiday.

Allan
October 11, 2019
    

Can't recommend it highly enough

Gwelmor is one of the most comfortable, well equipped beautiful dog friendly holiday homes I have ever had the pleasure of staying in. Can't recommend it highly enough.

Emma
October 4, 2019
    

The bungalow is perfect, such attention to detail and everything you could possibly need.

"We've had a fantastic week at the beautiful 'Gwelmor'. The bungalow is perfect, such attention to detail and everything you could possibly need. The welcome gifts were the cherry on the cake - thank you! The coastal path to Crackington Haven is a challenging route but so rewarding. The Bay View Inn does a great fish 'n' chips and we even had a yummy pizza delivered from La Bocca in Bude. All things considered, an amazing holidayt!"

David & Marleen
September 27, 2019
    

Made us feel welcome and at home

Couldn't find fault with this property. Beautifully presented with everything required for a comfortable holiday. The facilities provided for us and the dogs made us feel welcome and at home. The extra gifts were a lovely touch and very thoughtful. We would highly recommend this property to anyone with dogs that like a touch of luxury - not often found with dog friendly properties. Thank you.

Lesley
September 13, 2019
    

Stunning views & beaches on your doorstep

Fantastic holiday for the whole family! Beautiful bungalow in a great location. Everything you need is to hand. Extremely welcoming, beautifully decorated & very comfortable. Great for children & dogs. Stunning views & beaches on your doorstep.

Gemma
July 19, 2019
    

Cannot fault it. Will definitely return.

“Fantastic week, Gwelmor is superb. The owners have thought of everything. Only 5 mins from the beach, fantastic dog friendly garden, cannot fault it. Will definitely return.”

Carol
May 16, 2019
    

It is the cleanest dog friendly holiday cottage we have ever stayed in

“We have just had a fabulous week in Gwelmor in Widemouth Bay. The bungalow is situated in a quiet residential area but a stone’s throw from the beach. It is the cleanest dog friendly holiday cottage we have ever stayed in, beautifully furnished but practical for our two Newfys, with a lovely enclosed garden and open lounge/kitchen area... A huge 5 stars from us all.”

Sian
February 22, 2019
    

This beautiful home is perfect!!!

“The best word to describe this beautiful home is perfect!! Beautifully furnished/decorated. And the ideal location to explore the beautiful surroundings. Ideal place to stay with small children and dogs with it’s safe and secure garden. The owners really did go the extra mile to make us feel welcome.”

Marie
November 18, 2018
    

Highly recommended

“A beautiful family and dog friendly holiday cottage. Perfect for families with small children…highly recommended.”

Jacqueline
November 2, 2018
    

Incredibly beautiful dog friendly holiday cottage

“This is an incredibly beautiful dog friendly holiday cottage. Well equipped, beautifully decorated and so comfortable. Would definitely recommend a stay there.”

Hayley
November 2, 2018
    

We don't want to go home!

We cannot thank you enough for another wonderful week in your stunning holiday home. Hour lovely goodies for us and our 'furry friends' is so very much apprecaited. The standard of you home is truly exceptioinal, no wonder we had to come back! The trouble is, it's so gorgeous we don't want to go home!

Tony
September 21, 2018
    

Blown away by this amazing holiday home

“Blown away by this amazing holiday home. We loved it, everything was there that we needed, beautiful area and short walk to the beach… Recommend this place to everyone truly wonderful.”

Gill
May 18, 2018

Visit Widemouth Bay

White paint splash
Check 2022 availability
Cornwall Tourism Award 2020 / 2021Gwelmor - Cornwall Tourism Awards - Bronze 2019/20Gwelmor - Cornwall Tourism Awards - Commended 2019/20